Local Government

Guam, an unincorporated Territory of the United States. Guam’s local government is organized into three branches: executive, legislative and judicial. The legislative branch consists of a unicameral legislature with 15 members who are elected for two-year terms. The Legislature is empowered and responsible for creating laws to protect the community, ensure its health and welfare and promote Guam’s development. Guam’s judicial branch decides issues of local laws and interprets how these laws should be applied. The judiciary consists of two bodies: the Superior Court of Guam and the Supreme Court of Guam. Finally, the executive branch is managed by the island’s highest elected officials, the governor and lieutenant governor of Guam. These officials are tasked with the implementation of Guam’s laws through its departments, bureaus, committees and agencies that make up the government of Guam.

Federal Government

The United States government also maintains a presence on the island. As set out in the Organic Act of Guam, the government of Guam shares, but in most instances defers, its authority and duties in certain areas of governing our island to the federal government. The federal government maintains jurisdiction over certain areas including immigration, negotiation and execution of treaties and agreements with other nations, certain aspects of the maritime industry, protection of environmental integrity and defense. The existence of an elected government and the presence of the United States government create a secure and stable political climate.

Close Window